Key Lime Bars

5 Jun

The last month has been such a doozy. The yearbook has been sent and I am happy to have time again!

It is time for the Leftovers Club once again. This month I was paired with Elizabeth Cavallari, the founder of the club and blogger at Food Ramblings. I really appreciate everything she does to organize and coordinate the club, so I wanted to make her one of my favorite treats: Key Lime Bars. If I could pick just one recipe that reminds me of my mom, it would be these. She loves them and gave me this wonderful recipe!

Key Lime Bars

from the kitchen of Julie Hill
 

2 cups flour

1/2 cup confectioner sugar

1 cup melted butter

Mix the flour & sugar, then add butter. Press crust into a 9 x 13 pan. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

2 cups sugar

5 Tablespoons flour

1 teaspon baking pwder

4 eggs, beaten

8 Tablespoons lime juice

green food coloring, a couple drops

Mix sugar, flour, & baking powder. Add eggs, mix well. Add juice & food coloring and pour over crust. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until it begins to firm up. Cool a little, cut while warm. Dust with powdered sugar.

You can use lemon juice & yellow food coloring for lemon bars.

photo 4photo 3 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with b5 presetphoto 2 photo 11401830868.217965.IMG_5317


Leftover Club

If you are interested in the Leftover Club, go here for more info: theleftoversclub.com

 

6 Responses to “Key Lime Bars”

  1. Elizabeth Batte June 5, 2014 at 9:21 am #

    I LOVE key lime pie and know I’d love these! Lucky Elizabeth!

  2. ecavalla June 5, 2014 at 9:22 am #

    We are on the same page this month! Well, the lemon bars I kept are almost gone….can’t wait for your key lime bars!!!!! Love citrus flavors!

  3. juniebeehill June 5, 2014 at 1:54 pm #

    I wish I was sharing one of these with you right now! Missing you

  4. Lisa June 5, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    The layers in these bars look amazing. Love the luscious layer of lime curd in there.

  5. shaywiz June 5, 2014 at 5:37 pm #

    Love the powered sugar topping, it gives these bars such a beautiful finishing touch

  6. Marie @ Little Kitchie June 6, 2014 at 7:55 am #

    Key lime pie is one of my favorites, and so perfect for summer!

Leave a Reply

