Boeuf Bourguignon

17 Jan

For the last few years, Ryan has been giving me (or helping his mom pick out) Christmas presents that will beef up our kitchen. Last year, it was new pots and pans. This year it was a wonderful set of Cutco knives. Side note: these babies are sharp. I have already almost had to get stitches.

I am also on a huge Julia Child kick. My book club read “My Life In France” last fall and I love the movie, “Julie & Julia.” I got both volumes of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” for Christmas too.

photo-7

The first recipe that I wanted to try was Boeuf Bourguignon. It means Beef Burgundy. When it said difficult next to the recipe, I wasn’t too concerned, but I should have been! This recipe has lots of steps and I suggest that you try it only if you have several hours of free time. I had to double the recipe because ten people were coming for dinner. Ryan, who I lovingly refer to as my sous chef, was really helpful. There is no way I could have finished without him. This recipe is a big undertaking.

It was delicious, but I won’t add this to the weekly routine. If tender beef is what you love, give this one a try.

3 Responses to “Boeuf Bourguignon”

  1. deliciousdaydreams January 17, 2014 at 12:25 pm #

    This photo is gorgeous, and if it tasted as good as it looks, I’m sure it was amazing!

    • Charlotte Turtle January 17, 2014 at 12:27 pm #

      Thank you! The key is letting it cook as long as possible!

  2. Ryan Turtle January 19, 2014 at 3:18 pm #

    Love being your sous chief!

Leave a Reply

