Friday Night Lights

9 Feb

On our long list of things to finish before we get the house appraised was to get new lights for the downstairs bathroom and the study. After looking all over my favorite sites, we found ones we really liked.

Last night, we decided to be adventurous and hang them ourselves.  The bathroom light was ugly and pretty plain. The new fixture was on sale at Pottery Barn, plus I had a 15% off coupon!
DSC_2523 DSC_2524 DSC_2526 DSC_2539 DSC_2541DSC_2540

The original light in the study was actually a fan. And while I enjoy the utilitarian part of fans, I really have a hard time finding ones I like. I had been envisioning a large drum shade made from linen and found it at West Elm. It was on sale also. Getting the fan down was not as easy as the light in the bathroom.DSC_2529 DSC_2533 DSC_2534 DSC_2538

I am really proud of Ryan for his willingness to learn new things! I love seeing the way little things make a big difference.

3 Responses to “Friday Night Lights”

  1. juniebeehill February 10, 2013 at 8:33 am #

    Both of the fixtures are room changers! I love your choices and commend your guts to get it done yourselves. You two just continue to amaze me. xoxox

  2. Holmes February 12, 2013 at 8:40 am #

    It makes the whole downstairs!

  3. The Acuff Family February 22, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

    Wow! They look great! Love, love, love the one in the bathroom. Good job, Ryan!

Leave a Reply

