Homemade Key Lime Pie Ice Cream

25 May

Ryan got me the ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchen Aid Mixer for my birthday. Since we were having friends over last night and the weather has been so grand, I thought it would be a perfect night to try it out.

This recipe is a winner. If you are a homemade ice cream fan and also love Key Lime Pie, you will really enjoy it. I found it via Pinterest. (My link thing isn’t working so here is the address: http://www.goodlifeeats.com/2011/06/key-lime-pie-ice-cream-recipe-from-my-baking-addiction.html )

Clearly, it isn’t good for you……

Key Lime Pie Ice Cream

adapted from Cooking Light
serves 6

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups whole milk
1/2 cup bottled Key lime juice (such as Nellie and Joe’s)
1/2 cup heavy cream
Dash of salt
1 (14-ounce) can sweetened condensed milk
6 graham crackers (1 1/2 cookie sheets), coarsely crushed, divided
Key lime wedges

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine milk, lime juice, heavy cream, salt and sweetened condensed milk; whisk to combine.

Pour mixture into your ice cream maker, and freeze according to manufacturer’s instructions.

Stir 1/3 cup graham crackers into ice cream. Spoon ice cream into a freezer-safe container, and cover and freeze for 1 hour or until firm. Sprinkle each serving with 1 teaspoon graham crackers. Garnish with lime wedges.

2 Responses to “Homemade Key Lime Pie Ice Cream”

  1. Su Madre May 25, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

    Oh my, oh my, does this sound so delish!!!! I do not think it is Weight Watcher friendly so I will have to use some self control for a while.

  2. Holmes May 27, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    4th of JULY????

Leave a Reply

