Instagram Magnent Tutorial

4 Apr

Have you seen these instagram magnets on the internet? They are really clever, but too much money for what they actually are in my opinion. I love the instagram app, but wanted a more permanent way to view these pictures on a regular basis. So I made some of my own instagram magnets.

Supplies:

5 x 8 Magnet Sheets- $2.99 each at Hobby Lobby

A ruler and Xacto knife

A cutting surface

Paper to print your pictures on

Instructions:

1. First you have to print the photos out. I signed up for Followgram. It allows you to drag your photos onto the desktop of your computer instead of emailing every photo from your iPhone. This is a huge time saver. Then you have to set up your photos in a grid. I made each photo into a 1.5 x 1.5 square in InDesign. Since I was doing several photos, I did 3 different 5 x 8 squares of pictures. Then printed them out.

2. Take the waxy paper off the back of the magnet and stick your sheet down.


3. Then trim all of the squares out carefully using your knife.

I ended up being O.C.D. right after this and arranging them all in a grid.

2 Responses to “Instagram Magnent Tutorial”

  1. Ali April 4, 2012 at 9:04 pm #

    Thank you thank you! I almost ordered those inatagram magnets online and now I have a spring break project! You’re the best 🙂

  2. Su Madre April 4, 2012 at 10:09 pm #

    Oh you clever one! I want some, please.

Leave a Reply

