House Update: Guest Bathroom

21 Feb

The bathroom needed a MAJOR overhaul. We started the project in December and have decided it was well worth all the time and energy!

Before:

It was just gross no matter how much we tried to clean it!!! This thing couldn’t ever be pretty without some big changes.

Matt and Ryan ripped this room down to almost nothing. I didn’t realize we had to go back before we went forward, but they knew what they were doing.

Cutting open another doorway was a last minute decision that made this room to me. I love Jack and Jill bathrooms. Holmes and I shared one for about 10 years. Those years were filled with so much teenage drama over who got to use the bathroom first.

But it really opens the space up and makes it feel its actual size. Matt also made it so both doors would open out instead of into the bathroom. Imagine the space we gained! (We also gained mass amounts of dust.)

Because the wall was covered with weird, fake tile, they had to put up new dry wall.

I love the retro tile we picked! It was half the price of the tile I originally wanted, but its perfect for the look I was going for.

Matt laid the tile on a Friday.

And Ryan grouted later that week.

This is about the point where it was all coming together!!!

Then we ran into a slight problem! I wanted a vanity that fit the bathroom look I was going for. This proved way more difficult than I realized. After several stops, we found this dresser at an antique store in Franklin, Kentucky. It was the cheapest one we had seen all day and the closest to what I was wanting! Amazing how that worked out.

We made the switch from black to white and knew it was perfect for the space.

It all seemed to move really quickly after this! We painted the walls & bead board. Matt put up frames around the doors and the trim, plus a pendant light Ryan picked out.

After cleaning the tub, installing the vanity/sink, a new toilet, and finishing up the paint, it was complete!

The last thing to get was a shower curtain that found at Anthropologie in Birmingham. Thank you Grandy for contributing to the bathroom! I love the ruffles.

5 Responses to “House Update: Guest Bathroom”

  1. Alli Hill February 21, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    This looks amazing!! I’m going to need a list of your paint choices soon, because I love them all šŸ™‚

    • charlyann February 21, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

      Thank you Alli! I will make a list for you! Stop by sometime on your way north or south on I-65.

  2. amandaveneman February 21, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    What an adorable bathroom! I love every bit of it to pieces. Weeeeellllllll all except the toilet seat being up. Put that puppy down!!! No need to germify your lovely little space when you flush =)

  3. kim clark February 22, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    That contractor is amazing!! I love his work! Could I get his number?!!! What an awesome bathroom remodel!

    Love you guys!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. House Update: Laundry Room « - March 26, 2012

    […] a bathroom when we moved in. It was the better of the two upstairs so we were using it up until the Guest Bath was finished. Sometimes we try to figure out what the builder was thinking when they built our […]

Leave a Reply

