Access with Confidence Through Faith

31 Jan

I am really excited to share this guest post with you! After Holmes got back from his trip to Jordan, I asked him to give me a recap to share with you. I hope this encourages you today. – Charlotte

First of all, what a privilege it is to be featured on Charlotte’s swanky blog. She asked that I describe my trip to the Middle East for you, and give her audience specific ways to pray for this dark area of the world. I am going to attempt to keep my post brief and spare the unnecessary details of this adventure. Here it goes:
On January 13th, I left for Jordan with a team of sixteen college-aged individuals from my Church in Birmingham. Through weekly meetings since September, my team had been preparing for effective outreach and gospel proclamation towards Muslims. Prior to the trip, I was fully confident that God would strategically use our limited time in Jordan ultimately for his praise and glory… I just did not know exactly how. Throughout the entire month of January, I had repeatedly been reading and studying the book of Ephesians, and then, all the way in Jordan, it became the topic of discussion once again. Ephesians 3:7-13 became my prayer for the American team from Birmingham, Alabama.

“Of this gospel I was made a minister according to the gift of God’s grace, which was given me by the working of his power. To me, though I am the very least of all the saints, this grace was given, to preach to the Gentiles the unsearchable riches of Christ, and to bring to light for everyone what is the plan of the mystery hidden for ages in God who created all things, so that through the church the manifold wisdom of God might now be made known to the rulers and authorities in the heavenly places. This was according to the eternal purpose that he has realized in Christ Jesus our Lord, in whom we have boldness and access with confidence through our faith in him. So I ask you not to lose heart over what I am suffering for you, which is your glory.”

My hope was that I would more deeply grasp the fact that I am never going to bring anyone to a saving knowledge of Christ. Our Father shapes our words to pierce the hearts of the sinful. The words in Ephesians 3 both humble me to reality and revive my heart with fervor. The stereotypes I had for Arab Muslims could not have been more incorrect. These people have literally never heard the gospel, and most individuals are incredibly receptive. The hospitality of this culture puts “The South” to shame. The kindness of the Jordanian people is how the body of Christ should be acting. The relationships I made in 9 short days are more sincere than many friendships I have had in college for two and half years. This reality has caused me to rethink critical aspects of my life. Am I simply becoming complacent in my life of comfort, or do I seek opportunities to daily make the gospel known to strangers and those I love? I have walked away from this experience in Jordan with three main reminders: (1) Prayer is the most powerful weapon we have against the snares of the devil. A life immersed in prayer is sure to have unexplainable interactions with the Holy Spirit. I must confidently trust my God’s faithfulness. (2) God will redeem the time I spend with Him, but I must daily fight to dedicate time to call upon His Name and meditate on His Word. (3) Life is too short to be full of comfort and take no risks.

I ask that you pray for these four specific areas in Jordan:
(1) Pray that the mission workers would have a renewed strength and passion for the lost in Jordan – truly seeing the people as completely dead in their sins and in need of a Savior.
(2) Pray especially for the salvation of the Muslim women in this country, for they are the spiritual backbone of these devout, Islamic families.
(3) Pray for courage and boldness for the men and women asking questions and seeking God who will soon deny their families, culture, friends and livelihood to follow Christ.
(4) Pray for a revival among the 2.8 million people in Amman, Jordan. This city serves as a key educational center of the Middle East, and it has the opportunity to cause Christianity to catch fire in this area of the world.

2 Responses to “Access with Confidence Through Faith”

  1. Mary London Carswell January 31, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Such a good word Holmes!!!!

  2. Grandy January 31, 2012 at 6:15 pm #

    Thanks for asking Holmes to share & Holmes thanks for the wonderful report. So proud of you both. Love!!

Leave a Reply

