Camera Strap

25 Aug

Last night, I sewed a cover for my camera strap. I used these instructions: here. I was planning on including the ruffles, but I got a little nervous since I don’t know how to do a basting stitch. I still felt accomplished because this is the first project I have started and finished by myself. I apologize for the poor photos, but I couldn’t use my nice camera (obviously).

 

 

5 Responses to “Camera Strap”

  1. amanda August 25, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    Lesson on basting stitch:: Turn your stitch length to the longest option (usually like 4 mm, but all machines are different). DON’T back-stitch at the beginning OR end. Then hold one of the end threads and pull on the fabric. It will ruffle up as you move it along. Hope that made sense…its very easy =) and I’m sure you can find a video online. Don’t be intimidated!

    • charlyann August 25, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

      thanks amanda! i will give it a try next time!

  2. ladybean73 August 25, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

    Hi! I found you through the WordPress Read-O-Mattic thingy. I’ve been wanting to make a removable strap cover for a while for my camera. Thank you for the link. This has to be the simplest camera strap slipcover pattern I’ve *ever* seen! šŸ™‚

    • charlyann August 25, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Thanks for visiting!! I am very new to sewing and it only took me about an hour from start to finish!

  3. Su madre August 25, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    You did a nice job! I really like your fabric choice. Good directions from Amanda. I am proud of your for venturing out on your own. I just knew the sewing bug was somewhere down inside you.
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

